How favorites work
BMC Digital Workplace users can add frequently used services and knowledge articles to their favorite items list.
The following video (3:19) shows how to add services to favorites:
When services can be added as a favorite item
By default, the section named Your Favorites in the BMC Digital Workplace end user console is added as the first visible section on the Catalog page. The favorites section is initially named Your Favorites; however, the BMC Digital Workplace administrator can change the name in the default language, and in additional languages for supported locales.
The administrator can also move the favorites section to appear elsewhere in the catalog. For information about displaying catalog sections, see Setting up sections in the Catalog. If a hero banner section is the first section, the favorites section is added immediately following the hero banner section. For information about banner types, see Types of promotional banners. The following illustration shows an example of Your Favorites section that shows a user's favorite items as small tiles. The administrator could instead configure the section to display items with large tiles and the excerpt field of the service catalog profile.
When favorite items are not available
The BMC Digital Workplace administrator can hide the Your Favorites section to disable the capability for end users to add favorite items. For information about displaying catalog sections, see Setting up sections in the Catalog.
Also, as a security feature, the favorites section is hidden when a user switches the catalog view to request services as another user.
Behavior when user adds a service as a favorite item
When the user views the service profile, the user taps the Favorite star to toggle the favorite status of a service.
The following illustration shows how an end user can add a service to their Your Favorites section:
The favorite item becomes the first item in the Your Favorites section. Items that were already in the Your Favorites section shift to the right.
Behavior when user removes a service from the list of favorite items
When the user views the service catalog profile of a favorite item in the end user console, the user taps the Unfavorite star to remove the item from the list of favorite items.
The following illustration shows how a user can remove a service from their favorite items list:
When the item is deleted, the remaining items in the Your Favorites section shift to the left.