Unsupported content

 

This version of the documentation is no longer supported. However, the documentation is available for your convenience. You will not be able to leave comments.

Decommissioning and deleting services

You might decide that a service should no longer be offered. For example, if your organization offers a new service that incorporates the capabilities of an older service, that older service might not be required. However, some users might still be using that service. You can decommission a service without affecting people currently using that service.

Also, if you are certain that you no longer need a service and no active instances of that service exist, you can delete the service.

To decommission a service

  1. From the BMC Cloud Lifecycle Management Administration Console, click the vertical Workspaces menu on the left side of the window and select Service Catalog.
  2. In the Service Catalog, click the service that you want to decommission, and then click Edit.
    The Edit Service dialog box opens for that service with the list of service offerings located on the left side.
  3. From the list of service offerings on the left, select a service offering, and then click the Edit Request Definition icon .
    The Requestable Offering Definition dialog box opens.
  4. Click Offline, and then close the Requestable Offering Definition dialog box.
    Users cannot request new instances of that service offering but can still request post deployment actions for their active instances.
  5. Repeat the previous two steps for all request definitions you want to take offline.
  6. In the Edit Service Dialog box, click a service offering to expand its post deployment actions.
  7. Click a post deployment action, and then click the Edit a post-deploy action icon  .
    The Requestable Offering Definition dialog box opens.
  8. Click Offline, and then close the Requestable Offering Definition dialog box.
    Users cannot request post deployment actions for their active services.
  9. Repeat the previous two steps for all post deployment actions that you want to take offline.
  10. In the Edit Service dialog box, click Save.

Note

If decommissioning fails due to an issue in BMC Server Automation or vCloud, the entries are still deleted from BMC Cloud Lifecycle Management and the cloud database. However, the VMs or vApps are not removed from BMC Server Automation or vCloud.

To delete a service

  1. From the BMC Cloud Lifecycle Management Administration Console, click the vertical Workspaces menu on the left side of the window and select Service Catalog.
  2. In the Service Catalog, click the service you want to delete, and then click Edit.
    The Edit Service dialog box opens for that service.
  3. In the Edit Service Dialog box, click a service offering to expand its post deployment actions.
  4. Click a post deployment action, and then click the Delete icon .
  5. In the Delete Confirmation dialog box, click OK.
  6. Repeat the previous three steps for all post deployment actions that you want to delete.
  7. In the Service Catalog, click a service offering, and then click the Delete icon .
  8. In the Delete Confirmation dialog box, click OK.

    If the service has only one service offering, you cannot delete the service offering, but you can delete the service.

  9. Repeat the previous two steps for all service offerings that you want to delete.
  10. In the Edit Service dialog box, click Save.
  11. In the Service Catalog, select the service you want to delete, and then click the Delete icon .
  12. In the Delete Confirmation dialog box, click OK.
Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments