This documentation applies to the 8.1 version of Change Management, which is in "End of Version Support." You will not be able to leave comments.

To view the latest version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Setting application preferences

You can set preferences to:

  • Set defaults for the consoles
  • Determine the action that occurs after you save a Change or Release Request form
  • Determine which console appears by default when you open BMC Remedy IT Service Management

To set application preferences

  1. From the Change Management console, click Functions > Application Preferences.
    For Release Management, select the options from the Release Management console.
  2. On the Application Preferences dialog box, click the Change Management tab for BMC Change Management preferences and Release Management for Release Management preferences.
    The following table describes the settings available on the form:

    Setting

    Description

    Preferences for

    This is a read-only field that identifies the user.

    Default Home Page

    Select the console that you want to appear as your home page when you log into the BMC Remedy Action Request System (BMC Remedy AR System) server. For example, if you want the Change Management console to appear, select Change Management Console. The default value is IT Home Page.

    Company

    Select the company that you want to appear in the Company field of the Change Management or Release Management console by default.

    Show

    The default console view, with the search criteria, controls which change requests appear in the Assigned Work area. You can temporarily change this setting from the navigation pane of the console. The following list shows you the available selections:

    • Submitted By Me — Shows all change requests that you submitted
    • Assigned To Me — Displays change requests assigned to you
    • Assigned To My Selected Groups — Prompts you to select any support groups to which you belong. You can select to display all change requests assigned to your group, or change requests assigned to your group that are not yet assigned to an individual.
    • Assigned To All My Groups — Displays change requests assigned to all your support groups. You can choose to display all change requests, or change requests that are not yet assigned to an individual.

      Notes:
      • For Release Management, release requests are displayed.
      • If you are a new user, you must select the preference for the View Broadcast link to function correctly.

    Confirm on Submit

    Choose whether to display a confirmation message when you submit a new change record.

    Console Page > On Form Open

    • Data Set Name — Choose a personal preference dataset, for example, BMC Asset. For more information about how this dataset is used, see Relating CIs to alternate datasets.
    • Role — Displays change requests assigned to the selected role. You can choose to display change requests assigned to all roles, or specific Change Management roles.

    Form

    • After New Save — This setting controls the action after you click Save on the Change or Release form. The following list shows the available selections:
      • New Request After Submit — Opens the Change or Release form in New mode ready for you to record a new change
      • Modify Request After Submit — Leaves the Change or Release form open and changes the mode from New to Modify
    • Tab Views — You can choose whether to show the following panels:
      • Show Approvers
      • Show Financials

        Notes:
        • These preferences apply only when you are using the Classic view.
        • The Financials panel is not displayed when the Change is in Draft status.

    Overview Console

    You can choose whether to show change or release records based on the status and user role on the Overview console.
    On the Overview console, only Open change or release records are displayed.

  3. To select task related options, on the Application Preferences dialog box click the Task Management tab.
    The following table describes the settings available on the form:

    Setting

    Description

    Overview Console

    • Show Task — Choose Yes to show tasks.
    • Task Status — Choose one of the following options:
      • All Tasks — Shows all tasks irrelevant of their status
      • All Open Tasks — Displays all tasks that are not in the Closed status
      • All Closed Tasks — Displays all tasks with the status of Closed

  4. Click Save.
Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments