Phased rollout

   

This version is currently available to SaaS customers only. It will be available to on-premises customers soon.

Reopening cases

Resolved cases might be reopened for various reasons. If a case is created from a service request, the requester can reopen the case by reopening the corresponding service request in BMC Helix Digital Workplace Advanced by using the Reopen button or by sending an email. A case cannot be reopened if it is closed or canceled.

Example

A case agent resolves a case created for an address change request because the requester did not provide the required documents to update the address. The requester, who was on vacation, notices that the case was resolved due to lack of proper documentation. The requester reopens the case. After the case is reopened, the requester sends the required documents, the case agent verifies the documents and attaches them to the case, updates the user's address and closes the case. 

A case can be reopened only for a specific number of days after it was resolved. Out of the box, the number of days to reopen the case is set to 5 days and customers can configure it as required between a range of a day to 90 days. A case business analyst configures this value at a global level or at a template level. 

The following image shows the changes that occur when a case is reopened:


To reopen a case

  1. Log in to BMC Helix Business Workflows.
  2. From the Line of Business list, select the line of business for which you want to reopen a case.
    If you have access to a single line of business, the line of business is selected by default.
  3. To reopen case, click the Case ID on the Cases console.

    Important

    You cannot reopen a case that is in Closed or Canceled status.

  4. Click .
    The case is reopened and the status is set to In Progress.

When you reopen a case, if the case assignee's status is set to Unavailable for assignments or if the assignee does not belong to the support group, the assignee is removed and the case is assigned to the support group.

After you reopen the case, agents can add tasks to the case. After the tasks are completed, case agents must manually change the status of the reopened case to Resolved, and then close the case.


Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments