This documentation supports the 19.08 version of Remedy and applies only to the on-premises deployment model.

To view an earlier version, select the version from the Product version menu.


Reconciling AR customizations

During the upgrade, the upgrade installers ignore application overlays and change only the objects that were originally installed with the application or server. After the upgrade, the application or server continues to use the overlays instead of the original objects for run-time operations so that your customizations are preserved.

When you upgrade applications or system components, some objects that you have overlaid might be deleted, which means that your overlay is deleted as well. Similarly, some of your customizations might interfere with the upgraded behavior. You must reconcile these customizations before using the application.

For further information about overlays, see Customizing applications using overlays and custom objects .

In this topic

Upgrade reconciliation process overview

The following graphic depicts the reconciliation process during an upgrade. The reconciliation stages shown in the graphic happen in the respective environments followed by an upgrade of platform components and applications.      

Before you begin

Before you reconcile the AR customizations, you should have captured a snapshot of your current overlays, adjusted the customizations, and upgraded the platform on the primary server. If you have not yet performed these steps, return to the appropriate upgrade process:

You can use your production server as a reference server (or the QA server if the customizations match what is in production) to perform the reconciliation.

Reconciliation process

Where to go from here

Next task

Start with Performing AR reconciliation.

Up to process
 

When you have finished reconciling BMC Remedy AR customizations, return to the appropriate stage in the upgrade process:

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments

  1. Ricky Ricky

    hi BMC,

    Need as expalanation about this statement "During the upgrade, the upgrade installers ignore application overlays and change only the objects that were originally installed with the application or server. After the upgrade, the application or server continues to use the overlays instead of the original objects for run-time operations so that your customizations are preserved.

    When you upgrade applications or system components, some objects that you have overlaid might be deleted, which means that your overlay is deleted as well. Similarly, some of your customizations might interfere with the upgraded behavior. You must reconcile these customizations before using the application."

    So when the upgrade ITSM process will the overlaid object still preserved or will be deleted?

    Regards, Ricky

    Mar 12, 2020 06:18
    1. Sankar ayinala Ayinala

      during upgrade your changes in overlay layer will be preserved. You need to follow 3-way Recon step to reconcile the objects modified during upgrade that are having overlays. We may delete objects such as Active links, filters etc during upgrade that would delete overlays as well. You may need to consider creating overlays on the new objects as per the new functionality.

      Mar 13, 2020 01:47