Terminating the reorganization function

When you are running an offline reorganization, you can terminate the reorganization function before completion.

Use the operator interface to enter the SHUTDOWN command. Database integrity cannot be guaranteed if termination of the reorganization function occurs any other way. Normal backup procedures should be followed before executing the reorganization function to provide recovery capability if it is required.

Because the reorganization function reorganizes one UOW at a time, reorganization that has already been performed does not have to be repeated if the reorganization function is interrupted. UOWs that have already been reorganized remain reorganized. After restart, the reorganization function begins processing at the next disorganized UOW. Special restart JCL is not required.


Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments