Uninstalling OnDemand BMC Client Management components

If you need to uninstall some of the Client Management components that were installed on your infrastructure, you have the following options:

Be aware that uninstalling an agent from a device does not automatically remove the device from the BMC Client Management database; it must be removed manually from there via the console. If you do not delete the device in the database, it is still displayed in all its groups with the connection status Lost and a red icon () after the device lost time defined in the system variables.

Manually uninstalling BMC Client Management components

You can manually locate and uninstall the following BMC Client Management components:

  • BMC Client Management Client
  • BMC Client Management Console

BMC Client Management agents (relays as well as simple clients) can only be uninstalled manually if they also were installed manually. If they were installed by rollout, they also must to be uninstalled by rollout.

Uninstalling from Windows devices

You can uninstall the BMC Client Management components from a Windows device from the Add/Remove Programs window of Control Panel. When the uninstallation is complete, you can see that the respective BMC Client Management component is removed from the programs list in the Add/Remove Programs window and the agent icon has disappeared from the system tray.

Uninstalling from Linux devices

You can uninstall the BMC Client Management components from a Linux device using the following commands in a terminal window:

  1. Open a terminal window and type the following commands as required:

    Component to be uninstalledCommand
    BMC Client Management Consolebmc-client-management-console-uninstall
    BMC Client Management Clientbmc-client-management-client-uninstall

    Note

    You can only manually uninstall a client that was manually installed. Clients that were installed via rollout must also be uninstalled via rollout.

  2. Press the Enter key.

Note

Be aware that any files which are generated during the use of BMC Client Management , such as log files, data files, and so on, are not automatically deleted during the uninstallation of the components. They must be deleted manually.

Uninstalling BMC Client Management agents via rollout

Agents that were installed via a rollout must also be uninstalled via a rollout. For more information on uninstalling the BMC Client Management agent via rollout, see Uninstalling the client agent via rollout.

Verifying the uninstallation

  1. In the Global Settings> Rollouts> (Uninstall rollout) > Servers> (Your Rollout Server) node, select the Targets tab.
    All defined target devices are listed.

  2. Monitor the advancement of the rollout under Status. The different statuses are as following:

    Rollout StatusDescription
    InitialRollout is defined and preparing to execute
    SuccessfulRollout is successfully executed
    ProcessingRollout is still executing
    At least one device failedRollout failed on one or more target devices

Note

Devices that cannot be accessed directly by the rollout (for reasons such as they are in another domain or behind a firewall) must download the uninstallation package from the Rollout Server page of the server's agent browser interface and execute it. The link to server's agent browser interface is typically in the following format: http://<rollout server name>:<rollout server port>/rollout.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments