This documentation supports the 9.0 version of Remedy Action Request System.

To view the latest version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Releasing floating licenses to a license pool

A floating license is automatically released back to the pool of available licenses in the following situations:

  • A user logs out of a mid tier session.
  • A user closes the browser window.
    If a user closes the browser window, which is displaying BMC Remedy Mid Tier, then the system performs an automatic logout after a short delay. For more information about session timeouts, see the License Release Timeout 30 -300 Seconds row in the General Settings parameters table in the Configuring the General Settings page section.

    Note

    If the user is accessing BMC Remedy Mid Tier on multiple browser windows, the token is released only after the user closes the last browser window associated with the current HTTP session or navigates away from BMC Remedy Mid Tier.

  • A user does not perform a BMC Remedy AR System operation for the period of time in the floating license time-out interval. See the Floating License Timeout (hours) row in the Timeout tab fields table on the Setting timeout options section. 

In addition, administrators can manually release user's license one time in a 24-hour period by using the following procedure.

Note

A floating user license is not released when the mid tier session has timed out. In this case, when you do not initiate a new session, the floating license time out on the server releases the floating user license.


To release a floating license

  1. In a browser, open the BMC Remedy AR System Administration Console, and click System > Application > Users/Groups/Roles > License Review.
  2. From the Category list in the Manage User Licenses form, select Current Licenses.
  3. From the License Type list, select Floating. A list of users with the selected license type appears.
  4. From the list of active users, select the appropriate user.
  5. Click Release User. The license held by that user is released. Another user can take the license and start working. If the original user returns, the user cannot get back into the system if no licenses are available.

    Note

    If you release a Fixed or Read license, this procedure removes the user from the list of current users; it does not affect the user's ability to connect to the server. The next time the user accesses the server, the user obtains the licenses again and the user's license information reappears.

  6. Click Close
Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments