Configuring report permissions and visibility settings
When a new report is created, it is automatically available for any users who are members of the same groups as the user who created the report, except for Public. (If the user creating the report is a member only of Public, then the report is available to Public.) The groups that have permission to a report are listed in the Assignee Groups field of the Report form.
There are several settings you can change to control whether other users can see a report:
- Mark the report private — For Web reports, select the Private check box in the Report Designer. This removes all groups from the Assignee Groups field in the Report form when the report is saved. In this case, only the report creator and Administrator can see the report. This is the default setting when a new report is created.
- Set report permissions — Add or remove groups in the Assignee Groups field in the Report form.
- Mark the report invisible — To prevent a report from appearing in the Report Console or the ReportSelection form, but still allow workflow to run the report, set the Visible in Console field in the Report form to No.
- Set status to inactive or pending — To prevent a report from appearing in the Report Console or ReportSelection forms, and prevent workflow from running the report, set the Status field to Inactive or Pending. You can use the Pending status to let reviewers know that the report is ready for review.