Deleting overlay objects
You can modify or delete overlays like any other BMC Remedy AR System server objects by using BMC Remedy Developer Studio. Unlike the Create Overlay menu, no separate menu is available to modify or delete overlay objects.
In Best Practice Customization mode, the Delete context menu (Delete View menu for views) is available only when you select an overlay or custom object. You cannot delete out-of-the-box objects in Best Practice Customization mode.
The delete operation has the following consequences:
- If you delete an overlaid object, which is possible only in Base Development mode, its overlay is automatically deleted. Workflow objects associated with the overlay are also deleted, along with their overlays (if any).
- If you have workflow that uses a custom field on an overlay form, and you delete the overlay form, the workflow does not function correctly at run time.
For general information about modifying or deleting objects, see Working with existing objects.