When a field is deleted, it is removed from all form views. When you save a form from which you have deleted a field, the field is deleted from the form in the database, and the field and its associated data for each request are also deleted from the database and space is freed. The operation might take several minutes to complete. Because your database might be unavailable while the deletion is occurring, users might not be able to access the server and might receive time-out messages. To minimize user inconvenience, perform deletions during off-peak hours.
To disable data fields without removing them or their associated data from the database, see Making data fields non-operational.
To delete a field
- Open the appropriate form.
- Right-click the field, and select Delete.
You cannot delete core fields . See Core fields.
- In the confirmation box, click Yes to delete a single field, or click Yes To All to delete multiple fields.
- Right-click the form, and select Save.
When you delete a panel field, the data fields on the panel are not deleted; they are only removed from the view. See Including and excluding fields from form views.