This documentation supports the 19.02 version of Remedy Action Request System.

To view the latest version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Managing groups

You can modify, delete, or search for groups in the Group form.

To search for groups

  1. In a browser, open the Group form of the appropriate server in Search mode.
  2. Enter values in fields, or use the Advanced Search Bar to specify search criteria.
    For computed groups, enter one group ID or one user name (in single quotation marks) in the Computed Group Definition field. If you use the Advance Search Bar, use the LIKE operator to indicate that you are searching for a portion of a string. (See Operators for more information.) The search returns all computed groups that include the specified user or group in the definition.
    You cannot search the Computed Group Definition field for group names, or for strings that include operators such as AND, OR, and NOT. This is because BMC Remedy AR System converts group names to group IDs and encodes operators before storing them in the database. However, the search results do show the strings as they were originally entered, with group names and operators.
  3. Choose Actions > Search to retrieve the list of currently defined groups that match your search criteria.

To modify groups

  1. In a browser, open the Group form of the appropriate server in Search mode.
  2. Perform a search to retrieve a list of currently defined groups.
  3. Select the appropriate group from the list.
  4. Modify information in the appropriate fields.
  5. Save your changes.

To delete groups

  1. In a browser, open the Group form of the appropriate server in Search mode.
  2. Perform a search to retrieve a list of currently defined groups.
  3. Select the appropriate group from the list.
  4. Choose Actions > Delete.
    A confirmation box appears to verify that you want to delete the group entry.
  5. Click OK.

    Note

    Permissions for a user are determined by the list of groups in the Group list field of the user's entry in the User form. If you later delete a group or change its Group ID, the users originally assigned to the group are still attached to the old ID. If there is no group with the old ID, these users are no longer attached to any group.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments