This documentation supports the 9.1 to 9.1 Service Pack 3 version and its patches of BMC Atrium Core. The documentation for version 9.1.04 and its patches is available here.

To view the latest version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Server-side API logging

BMC Atrium CMDB logs the engine processing in the cmdbengdebug.log file, which helps you to debug your API program. When you enable logging, the BMC Atrium CMDB records details about operations, such as SynchMetaData, graph query, and export and import. For more information about related API functions, see C API functions and C API data structures.

The BMC Atrium CMDB Engine classifies the messages into error, warning, and information categories. The engine logging is enabled by default and the CMDB-Debug-Flag parameter is ignored.

Each entry in the log provides the following details:

  • Timestamp — The date and time of the log entry.
  • Log Type — The type of log entry: warning, error, or information.
  • Message — The message for the log entry.

You can specify the following additional parameters for the logging option in the ar.cfg (ar.conf ) configuration file, depending on your platform:

  • CMDB-Debug-Level — Specifies the level of logging that you require for your API calls. These levels determine the types of messages that are logged for the calls. The logging levels are inclusive of their preceding levels.
    For example, if you set the debug level to 3, you receive log messages for levels 1, 2, and 3. To set the debug logging to a different level, add CMDB-Debug-Level: <loggingLevel> to the configuration file and restart the AR System server. The different logging levels are described in the following table:
FatalLogs the events that may lead the application to abort.
ErrorLogs the events in which application continues to run with some errors.
WarningLogs the events that are potentially harmful situations.
InfoLogs the events and calls with their results that highlight the progress of the application at high level.
DebugLogs the events and calls with input and output values that are useful to debug an application.
TraceLogs the events that can be used to trace the information for solving support issues in production environment without disturbing a running system.
ClearLogging is disabled.


The CMDB Engine logs all warnings and error messages by default. If you attempt to lower the debug logging level to 1, cmdbEngine automatically updates it to 2. However, if you need finer logging you can still set the logging level to 5.

  • CMDB-Log-File-Location — Enables you to specify the directory location on your system where the log file is written. You can specify any location on your system.
    On Windows, the log file is written to the Program Files\ARSystem\Arserver\db subdirectory of your installation directory by default. On UNIX, it is created under serverInstallationDirectory /db.
  • CMDB-Max-Log-File-Size — Enables you to specify a maximum size, in kilobytes (KB), for your log file (for example, CMDB-Max-Log-File-Size: 50000 ). When the log file reaches the specified limit, the system automatically creates a backup of the log file and continues to store the log entries in a new log file.
    The default value for the CMDB-Max-Log-File-Size parameter is 0, which specifies an unlimited size for the log file.
Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you


  1. Ivan Pirishanchin

    Could you please add the integer values of the log levels too?

    Dec 05, 2016 11:24