This documentation supports the 18.08 version of BMC Atrium Core.

To view the latest version, select the version from the Product version menu.

Purging soft-deleted data by using the Reconciliation Engine

You can use a Purge activity to physically delete only instances that have been marked as deleted, or soft deleted. You can optionally further restrict the instances to be purged by using a Qualification Set. 

BMC Recommendations

  • If you are purging data from data sets that also serve as source data sets in a Merge activity, you can choose to only delete instances that have also been soft deleted in the target data set. This helps prevent "orphan" instances in the target data set that would never get marked as deleted because no source ever merges with them.
  • To ensure that users have a chance to review soft-deleted records, make Purge activities as part of a stand-alone job that is executed manually or by workflow events.

To create a Purge reconciliation activity

The procedure for creating a Purge reconciliation activity is available directly in the BMC CMDB Interface. The Walkthroughs widget guides you through real-time, interactive steps to perform the tasks.

The Purge reconciliation activity is explained as part of two walk-through options, Creating a Standard Reconciliation Job and Creating a Custom Reconciliation Job.

You can access the Walkthroughs widget from any of the following pages:

  • On the Dashboard page, click Walkthroughs, and from the Self Help menu, click Creating a Standard Reconciliation Job or Creating a Custom Reconciliation Job. The Purge activity is explained in these walkthroughs after the Identify and Merge activities.
  • On the Dashboard page, Data Flow section, click Reconciliation, or on the Dashboard page, click the Jobs > Manage Reconciliation menu option. Click the Walkthroughs widget and then click either Creating a Standard Reconciliation Job or Creating a Custom Reconciliation Job. The Purge activity is explained in these walk-throughs after the Identify and Merge activities.

Notes

  • For a reconciliation job, if you clear the Disable Progress Bar on UI During Job Execution check box, the number of CIs purged by the reconciliation engine is displayed while the job is running. If you select the check box, the progress bar is not displayed while the job is running, resulting in faster job execution.
  • Prior to version 8.1 (Service Pack 1), the reconciliation engine excluded all the relationships during a purge activity. As a result, if the relationship between a strong and weak CI got deleted, the weak CI became orphan. To avoid such data integrity issues, relationships were excluded during the purge activity. However, from Service Pack 1 onward, the strong relationship (as defined in Common Data Model) can be purged safely, without causing any data integrity issues.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments