Adding and managing roles

role is a set of activities that a user can perform. A user can have one or more roles, and every role is assigned one or more activity.

To manage and assign roles for user accounts from the TrueSight Capacity Optimization console, go to Administration > Users > Roles. The Roles page shows a summary table listing the currently defined user roles, their description, and the associated LDAP groups, if applicable. From this page you can add, edit, or delete user roles.

Each user can have different activities (access rights) associated with his account. An activity can be, for example, the ability to create a new model or analysis, or the ability to configure a domain. As single users may need to perform several activities, all privileges can be aggregated into custom groups called roles.

Default roles

Some default roles are available out-of-the-box when you install or upgrade to TrueSight Capacity Optimization version 11.0. For the list of default roles, see Default users and user groups.

To view details of a role

  1. Select Administration > Users > Roles.
    The Roles page shows a summary table listing the currently defined user roles, their description, and the associated Remedy SSO (local or integrated LDAP) groups as external names, if applicable.
  2. Click the role name whose details you want to view.
    The detail page for the selected role is displayed in the working area, listing all activities assigned to the role.

To add a role

  1. Select Administration > Users > Roles.
  2. In the Roles page, click Add role and enter the following information:

    FieldDescription
    NameType unique name for the role.
    DescriptionType description for the role.
    Role AssignmentSelect any one:
    • Assign this role by default to all users: To assign this role to all users on their login.
    • Assign this role automatically to external users having external group names matching the below list: To assign this role on login to the external users that have external names matching with the names specified in the External names box. Users are assigned this role on their login. When you select this option, the External names box is enabled.
    External namesSpecify the names of the Remedy SSO (local or integrated LDAP) groups to associate with this role, separated by a semi-colon (";").
    Activities

    From the list of Available activities, select one or more (Click, Ctrl+click or Click+drag) activities to associate with the role, and then click .
    The activities you selected are added to Selected.
    When you add the User accounts - Edit or User access groups - Edit to the Selected list, the User roles/access groups edit restrictions field is displayed. The User roles/access groups edit restrictions field enables you to control the creation of users based on roles and/or access groups. To control the creation of users, you can:

      • Allow user creation/edit with any role (default):Click to toggle to Restrict user creation/edit based on the following roles, and select one or more roles (Click, Ctrl+click or Click+drag) which will be allowed to create users, and click .
      • Allow user creation/edit with any access group (default): Click to toggle to Restrict user creation/edit based on the following access groups, and select one or more access groups (Click, Ctrl+click or Click+drag) which will be allowed to create users, and click .

     

  3. Click Save.
    The Activities table is displayed that lists all activities you selected, and a description for each one of them. 
    You can also Edit or Delete your current role. 

To edit or delete a role

You can edit a role to change the activities associated with it, or delete a role.

To edit a role

  1. Select Administration > Users > Roles.
    The Roles page is displayed.
  2. To edit a role, do one of the following:
    • In the Roles page, click the role name that you want to edit.
    • In the Roles page, click edit this role corresponding to the role you want to edit.
  3. In the Edit role page, edit the required properties and click Save

To delete a role

  1. Select Administration > Users > Roles.
    The Roles page is displayed.
  2. To delete a role, do one of the following:
    • In the Roles page, click the role name that you want to delete. The role is deleted.
    • In the Roles page, click delete this role corresponding to the role you want to delete. Click Proceed to delete the selected role.


Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments