Duplicating, editing, and deleting users and groups

The following procedures describe how to delete and maintain users and user groups:

To edit group settings

  1. If the group is Read-Only (displayed in italic text), select the group and click the Toggle Read Only icon on the Security toolbar to show the group name in normal text.
  2. Double-click the group name to open the Group Settings dialog box.
  3. Modify settings and permissions as required.

     Click here to view field descriptions...

    Field name/
    [Button label]

    Settings dialog box

    Description

    Days

    Group

    Select the duration, in days, of the password expiration cycle. This is not the number of days to expiration.

    Description

    Group

    Enter a description of the user or group.

    Expire Password After

    Group

    Enable password expiration. Not supported when Active Directory is enabled.

    Group name

    Group

    Enter the name of the group.

    Permissions

    Group

    Select or unselect permissions for the group.

    User members

    Group

    List of users that are members of this group.

    Green "+" button

    Group/User

    Add one or more users to this group or one or more groups to a user. This button opens a list of available users or groups to select from.

    Red "-" button

    Group/User

    Remove the selected users from the group or groups from the user.

    Enabled

    User

    Enable/disable this user's account.

    Force Password Change On Next Login

    User

    To force the user to change the password at login, select Force Password Change on Login. The next time the user logs in, they are prompted to change their password. Active Directory does not support this feature.

    Full Name

    User

    (Optional) Spaces are allowed.

    Groups

    User

    The list of the security groups to which this user belongs.

    Password/Confirm

    User

    Enter a unique password and confirm it.

    Permissions as set by Group membership

    User

    Cumulative permissions for this user based on group membership. This list is not editable on the User Settings screen.

    User Name

    User

    The length of the user name is not limited by TrueSight Middleware and Transaction Monitor, and BMC recommends that you select user names that mirror your existing system user names.

    You can also use first and last names as the user name. The user name is stored in quotes to allow for spaces.

  4. Click OK to close the dialog box.
  5. Click Save Changes on the Security toolbar to add the new security information to the database.

To duplicate a group

  1. Select the group to duplicate in the user/group list.
  2. Click the Duplicate User/Group icon in the Security tab and toolbar.
  3. Enter a name for the copied group and select the required permissions. 

To edit user settings

  1. If the User is Read-Only (displayed in italic text), select the user and click the Toggle Read Only icon on the Security toolbar to show the user name in normal text.
  2. Double-click the user name in the user list to open the User Settings dialog box.
  3. Make the required changes to the user's settings. 
  4. Click Save Changes on the toolbar to add the new security information to the database.

To duplicate a user

  1. If the user is Read-Only (displayed in italic text), select the user and click the Toggle Read Only icon on the Security toolbar to show the user name in normal text.
  2. Select the group to duplicate in the user/group list.
  3. Click the Duplicate User/Group icon in the Security tab and toolbar.
  4. Enter parameters for the copied user as required. 
  5. Click Save Changes on the toolbar to add the new security information to the database.

To remove a user from a group

You can perform this task using the Group Settings dialog box or the User Settings dialog box. The result is the same: a user is removed from a group.

  1. If the group is Read-Only (displayed in italic text), select the group and click the Toggle Read Only icon on the Security toolbar to show the user name in normal text.
  2. Open the Group Settings dialog box or the User Settings dialog box as follows:
    • To open the Group Settings dialog box, double-click on the group name in the Security tab.
    • To open the User Settings dialog box, double-click on the user name in the Security tab.
  3. Select the user or group to remove and click the red "+" button.
  4. Click Save Changes on the Security tab and toolbar to add the new security information to the database.

To delete a user or a group

  1. If the user/group is Read-Only (displayed in italic text), select the user/group and click the Toggle Read Only icon on the Security toolbar to show the user/group name in normal text.
  2. Click the Delete User/Group icon on the Security toolbar.
  3. Click Save Changes on the Security toolbar to add the new security information to the database.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments