Important

   

Starting version 8.9.03, BMC Server Automation is renamed to TrueSight Server Automation. This space contains information about BMC Server Automation 8.9.02 and previous versions. For TrueSight Server Automation 8.9.03 and later releases, see TrueSight Server Automation 8.9.

Maintenance and Exclusion Window options

For an Advanced Deploy Job, you can control the behavior of a job in a case where job execution began when allowed but extends beyond the time when jobs are normally allowed to execute. This can occur in the following scenarios:

  • The Advanced Deploy Job started executing during a maintenance window, and it is still running at the end of the maintenance window.
  • The Advanced Deploy Job started executing before an exclusion window, and it is still running at the beginning of the exclusion window.

The following options enable you to control job behavior in such cases:

Pause on Window Timeout

Pause the job when the maintenance window ends or when the exclusion window begins (the default). You can rerun the job when the next maintenance window begins or the exclusion window ends, and the job will resume where it left off. The pause option is supported only on Windows target servers.

If you want the job to complete, rather than pause, clear this check box.

Note

  • For jobs created before upgrading to BMC Server Automation 8.9, this option is not selected by default.
  • This option is only available on targets that are running an RSCD Agent of version 8.9 or later.
  • For this option to work properly, ensure that the Advanced Deploy Job was set with the following job options on the Job Options panel:
    • Flow Control is set to By server.
    • The Reset job on failure option is not selected.
Pause before (in minutes)

If the job is due to pause (that is, if the previous check box is selected), you can choose to have the job pause a few minutes before the maintenance window ends or the exclusion window begins.

To pause before job execution must pause, select the check box and set the number of minutes.

By default, the number of minutes is set to 0 (that is, the pause occurs only when the maintenance window ends or the exclusion window begins).

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments