About decommissioning servers

This topic provides details about decommissioning a server and its effects on jobs and components associated with the server. You can remove a server from BMC Server Automation by decommissioning it.

Decommissioning a server has the following effects:

  • The server no longer appears when you live browse in the BMC Server Automation Console.
  • The server is no longer available for any operation. For example, the server no longer appears in server groups. In addition, if you show the targets of a job, the decommissioned server is dimmed and marked as decommissioned.
  • Components associated with the server are marked for deletion in the database. When you run the database cleanup utility, these components are deleted from the database.

However, a decommissioned server is not marked for deletion in the BMC Server Automation database.

 

For jobs that use servers as targets, decommissioning a server has the following effects:

  • The server's provision history is maintained in the database (not marked for deletion):
  • Jobs, job results, and job runs previously associated with that server are maintained in the database (not marked for deletion)

    Note

    Decommissioning a server has the following effects on Snapshot and Audit Jobs:

    • If a decommissioned server is the target of a Snapshot Job or an Audit Job, then the job result associated with the server is marked for deletion in the database and no longer appears in the console.

      If the last server associated a Snapshot Job or an Audit Job is decommissioned and the last job result associated with that decommissioned server is marked for deletion, then the job run is also marked for deletion in the database and no longer appears in the console.

      For example, suppose you execute a Snapshot Job against two servers (Server A and Server B). If you decommission Server A, the job results associated with Server A are marked for deletion in the database; however, the job run is not marked for deletion. If you then decommission Server B, the job results associated with the Server B are marked for deletion in the database and the job run is marked for deletion in the database and no longer appears in the console.
    • If a decommissioned server is used as a Master in an Audit Job, then the Audit Job is marked as having broken dependencies.

For jobs that use components as targets, decommissioning a server has the following effects:

  • Job results from job runs against components associated with the server are marked for deletion in the database and no longer appear in the BMC Server Automation Console. When you run the database cleanup utility, these job results are deleted from the database.
  • If a job run only includes one or more components discovered against the decommissioned server, then the entire job run is marked for deletion in the database and no longer appears in the console.
  • If a job run includes components associated with decommissioned servers as well as servers that are not decommissioned, the job run is not marked for deletion. However, job results related to components associated with the decommissioned servers are marked for deletion in the database and no longer appear in the console.
  • If a component associated with a decommissioned server is used as a Master in an Audit Job, then the Audit Job is marked as having broken dependencies.
Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments