Deploy Job - Job Options

The Job Options panel lets you customize the behavior of a Deploy Job.

There are many interactions to consider when specifying job options. For a description of the procedure necessary to define job options, see Specifying job options.

If you are defining an advanced BLPackage Deploy Job, you can use this panel to control the flow of the job. You can specify whether a job should proceed as far as it can for each server or complete the same phase for all servers before proceeding to the next phase. You can also specify whether failed jobs are automatically reset so they can be immediately re-executed.

If you are defining any type of Deploy Job, you can use the Job Options panel to:

  • Specify whether the job can execute in parallel on a target with other Deploy Jobs. In some situations you may want a job to execute in single-job mode, meaning no other Deploy Jobs can be processed while this job is executing.
    Note that when a job starts, it may be placed in a queue of jobs waiting to execute. The job leaves the queue when execution begins. Jobs defined to run in parallel can execute while other parallel jobs are also executing. A job defined to run in single-job mode must wait until the jobs ahead of it complete. Any jobs further back in the queue wait until the job running in single-job mode completes.
  • Specify how long the job can wait in an agent's queue of jobs to be processed before the job itself is processed.
  • Specify how long the job can lose its connection to a target before the job fails. Typically a Deploy Job loses a connection to a target because the network has a experienced a failure, a target server is in the process of rebooting or shutting down, or the server has rebooted into single-user mode.
  • Specify that the job uses single-user mode while processing the entire job or while processing individual items. Single-user mode is a minimal UNIX environment typically used when installing or removing software. When a server is in single-user mode, BMC Server Automation cannot communicate with the agent on that server. Single-user mode is available for all UNIX based systems. Windows systems ignore all single-mode instructions.
  • Specify that a server reboot after an object in the package is deployed if the definition for that object calls for a reboot. If necessary, you can specify that a server reboot at the end of the job or that the server not reboot. You can also specify that the job consolidate all reboots until the end of the job.
  • Specify for Solaris servers that a reconfiguration reboot occurs at the end of the job. You can also specify whether a Solaris server should perform a reconfiguration reboot after an object in the package is deployed if the definition for that object calls for a reconfiguration reboot.

Where to go from here

Deploy Job - Phase Options

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you

Comments