Determining PATROL security levels

You can secure the data that passes between BMC PATROL components and also restrict unauthorized users from accessing your data by implementing PATROL security. You can select from five security levels when you install PATROL.


Agents, BMC console servers, and BMC consoles must operate at the same security level to communicate with each other. When you install agents, console servers, or consoles that need to communicate with previously installed versions of these components, check the security level of the previously installed components and be sure to install the new ones at the same level.

For more information about implementing and using PATROL security, see the PATROL Security User Guide at PDFs.

To check the security level of a previously installed agent, console server, or console

  1. From the command line navigate to the path on the computer that you want to check.
    • (Windows) %BMC_ROOT\..\common\security\bin\platform
    • (UNIX) $BMC_ROOT/../common/security/bin/platform
  2. Run the following command: esstool policy -a

The security level of the current computer is displayed in the security level field of the output.


If your environment contains a firewall, see Configuring a firewall.

Was this page helpful? Yes No Submitting... Thank you